Skip to main content

Membership and Terms of Reference

Commission Structure


Commission on Poverty
(1 July 2020 to 31 December 2022)

Chief Secretary for Administration


Non-official Members

Ms Chan Hoi-yan
Mr Chau Pui-por
Ms Vivian Chung Wing-yan
Mr Kenneth Fok Kai-kong
Mr Terence Lau Chun-kai
Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang
Ms Lau Oi-sze
Dr Jane Lee Ching-yee (Chairperson of the Social Innovation and
Entrepreneurship Development Fund Task Force)
Ms Christina Maisenne Lee
Professor Leung Siu-fai
Ms Ansah Majeed Malik
Mr Albert Su Yau-on
Ms Sze Lai-shan
Mr Tang Ka-piu
Ms Rebecca Tsai Ching-yu
Ms Eva Wong Ching-hung
Professor Simon Wong Kit-lung
Mr Yip Man-pan
Ms Grace Yu Ho-wun
Ms Yung Hoi-yan


Ex-officio Members

Secretary for Home Affairs
Secretary for Labour and Welfare (Chairperson of the Community Care Fund
Task Force)
Secretary for Education
Secretary for Food and Health



Terms of Reference


(a) Keep track of the poverty situation through the annual update of the poverty line and keep its analytical framework under review with a view to introducing refinements as needed;


(b) Review existing policies and explore new measures to achieve the objective of preventing and alleviating poverty to facilitate upward mobility and provide support to groups with special needs;


(c) Conduct researches and thematic studies on issues and topics on poverty alleviation to facilitate the formulation of relevant policies and initiatives;


(d) Oversee the operation of the Community Care Fund and the Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship Development Fund to plug the gaps in the existing system and promote social innovation to tackle poverty; and


(e) Promote cross-sector collaboration in poverty alleviation work and engage other government advisory committees on poverty alleviation work.



Declaration of Interests


Together, We Fight the Virus!
Commission on Poverty Summit 2019
“Life Buddies”
“Future Stars”