Commission on Poverty
Default Font SizeLarger Font SizeLargest Font Size
简体 English





“Life Buddies”


“Future Stars”


Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Special Needs Groups Task Force
(1 July 2017 – 30 June 2018)


Mr Chua Hoi-wai (Chairperson)
Mr Cheung Kin-fai (Vice-chairperson)

Members of the CoP
Ms May Chan Suk-mei
Mr Cheung Kwok-che
Dr Stephen Frederick Fisher
Mr Ho Hei-wah


Co-opted Members
Ms Carmen Chan Ka-mun
Ms Vivian Chung Wing-yan
Mr Brian Ho
Mr Herman Hui Chung-shing
Dr Lam Ching-choi
Mr Peter Lee Ka-kit
Dr Leung Lai-ching
Dr Leung Pak-yin
Ms Nancy Tsang Lan-see
Ms Deborah Wan Lai-yau
Ms Elaine Wu Siu-ling
Mr Stephen Yau How-boa
Ms Yu Sau-chu

Ex-officio Members
Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health) (or representative)
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare (or representative)
Director of Home Affairs (or representative)
Director of Social Welfare (or representative)
Commissioner for Rehabilitation (or representative)



Terms of Reference


(1) Review the existing policies and measures for supporting underprivileged groups with special needs in the community(including persons with disabilities, students with special educational needs, single-parent families, new arrivals and ethnic minorities);


(2) Explore new policies and measures to assist the aforementioned underprivileged groups with special needs to integrate into the community, be self-reliant and move upwards along the social ladder, in order to achieve the objectives of preventing and alleviating poverty;


(3) Maintain close liaison with and provide mutual support to other Task Forces under the CoP, and report to the CoP on its work plans and progress as and when appropriate; and


(4) Collaborate with the CoP and its other Task Forces to prepare for the annual CoP Summit for reporting the work progress of the CoP and engaging the public and various sectors in the community to take forward poverty alleviation work.



Declaration of Interests